sitespeednews.blogg.se

Is it worth to get a new hardrive for a 2011 mac book pro
Is it worth to get a new hardrive for a 2011 mac book pro













The site features a great interface that clearly shows which upgrades are compatible with your older Mac. Maybe I would see if I could keep my 2011 machine going a little longer.Ī quick search for 3rd-party Mac-compatible RAM led me to OWC, which was selling 16BG of Mac RAM for $99. Instead, the new Macbook Pro was announced, a machine that ditches the MagSafe power connector (best invention ever, at least for households with small children and/or clumsy people), has zero USB-A ports, and something called a Touch Bar that is apparently used to more easily add emoticons to your messages. 27 announcement of the new iMac models, which never materialized.

IS IT WORTH TO GET A NEW HARDRIVE FOR A 2011 MAC BOOK PRO UPGRADE

I was ready to upgrade in this classic, time-honored tradition, with money saved for a new iMac. You just pick it up, throw it in the trash, and then buy a new one. The machine was still useable, but only after I’d waited for the unstoppable startup indexing to complete (at least five minutes). Another issue was only about 50GB free on the 500GB internal drive, with that drive probably close to the end of its natural life. I installed a memory management program ( Memory Clean) which indicated I often had less than 100MB of free RAM. Part of the problem was only 4GB of RAM (both slots filled with 2GB each). I’d heard that new versions of MacOS were very resource intensive, so I hadn’t upgraded since Mavericks (MacOS 10.9). Starting it up became a “walk away and get a cup of coffee” type of thing, and opening even lightweight apps triggered the spinning beachball. But over the last year it got really slow. I use it for writing stories, making beats, writing this blog, some of my consulting work, all kinds of stuff.

is it worth to get a new hardrive for a 2011 mac book pro

I’ve had the 13″ MacBook Pro ever since, and it’s one of my favorite computers ever.

is it worth to get a new hardrive for a 2011 mac book pro

I had a recent full backup, and only ended up losing a few days of email. Though I never recovered that machine, Statefarm homeowner’s insurance covered the theft, and I was able to get a new 13″ MacBook Pro for the coverage amount less the deductible. Back in 2011 my 15″ Macbook Pro was stolen while on vacation in Kauai.













Is it worth to get a new hardrive for a 2011 mac book pro